mandala-153718_640In our current chaotic universe of constant stress and energetic shifting in awareness and consciousness, people are losing their balance. They are feeling overwhelmed, irritable and, for all intent and purposes, lost. Due to this rapid shifting and chaos, our energy systems are taking a beating.

Each body’s energy system is made up of 7 main chakras, which are considered the force centers that radiate from the physical center of our bodies and extend outward in a spiraling formation. These force centers are said to be the body’s focal point for the reception and transmission of energy. Whenever a chakra is off balance, we feel more irritable, more stressed; this can often create a physical manifestation in the form of illness or disease.

A chakra balancing and realignment can help release any energetic blockages we may have and bring us back to center. A healthy chakra system can bring about a healing and calming environment on not only an energetic level, but a physical and emotional one as well.

Below is a description of your 7 main Chakras and the related organs it is associated with:

* Root chakra: Located at the base of the tail bone.

The root chakra is related to instinct, security, survival, and to basic human potentiality. It is responsible for the flight-or-fight response when survival is under threat. There is a muscle located in this region that controls ejaculation in the sexual act of the human male. It is symbolized by a lotus with four petals and the color red. Key issues involve sexuality, lust and obsession. Physically, it governs sexuality, mentally governs stability, emotionally governs sensuality, and spiritually governs a sense of security.

* Sacral chakra: Located in the pubic area and associated with the womb in women and the prostate in men.

The sacral chakra is located in the sacrum and is considered to correspond to the testes or the ovaries that produce the various sex hormones. The Sacral Chakra is symbolized by a lotus with six petals, and corresponds to the color orange. The key issues are relationships, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure. Physically, it governs reproduction, mentally governs creativity, emotionally governs joy, and spiritually governs enthusiasm.

* Solar-plexus chakra: Located just above the belly button and is your personal power & guidance center

The solar-plexus chakra is related to the metabolic and digestive systems. It is believed to correspond to the adrenal glands. These play a valuable role in digestion, the conversion of food matter into energy for the body. This chakra is symbolized by a lotus with ten petals. It corresponds to the color yellow. Key issues governed by the solar-plexus chakra are issues of personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion-formation, introversion, and transition from simple or base emotions to complex. Physically governs digestion, mentally governs personal power, emotionally governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth.

* Heart chakra: Located in the centre of your chest and to the right of your physical heart.

The heart chakra is linked to the thymus, an element of the immune system and endocrine system. It is the site of maturation of the T cells responsible for fending off disease and may be adversely affected by stress. It is symbolized by a lotus flower with twelve petals. It is related to the colors green or pink. Key issues involve complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection and well-being. Physically it governs circulation, emotionally it governs unconditional love for the self and others, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

* Throat chakra: Located where the throat and chest meet.

The throat chakra may be understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. This chakra is paralleled to the thyroid, responsible for growth and maturation. It is symbolized by a lotus with sixteen petals. It is characterized by the color light or pale blue, or turquoise. It governs such issues as self-expression and communication. Physically, the throat chakra governs communication, emotionally governs independence, mentally governs fluent thought, and spiritually governs a sense of security.

* 3rd Eye or Brow Chakra: Located in the center of forehead, between and just above the eyebrows.

Linked to the pineal gland this may inform a model of its envisioning. The pineal gland is a light sensitive gland that produces the hormone melatonin which regulates sleep and waking up. It is symbolized by a lotus with two petals, and corresponds to the color white, indigo or deep blue. Its key issues involve balancing the higher & lower selves and trusting inner guidance. The inner aspect relates to the access of intuition. Mentally, the brow chakra deals with visual consciousness. Emotionally, it deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

* Crown Chakra: Located at the top of you head also known as the crown of the skull.

The crown chakra is considered the chakra of pure consciousness, and associated with the pituitary gland, central nervous system via the hypothalamus. Symbolized by a lotus with one thousand petals, it is represented by the color violet and it involves such issues as inner wisdom and the death of the body. It’s inner aspect deals with the release of karma, physical action with meditation, mental action with universal consciousness and unity, and emotional action with “beingness”.

What can you expect from a chakra balancing and realignment?

  • Re-energizing of the mind, body and spirit
  • Removal of negative energy and blockages
  • Creates a positive environment for personal healing
  • Enhances spiritual awareness
  • Strengthens immune function
  • Relieves stress and anxiety
  • Creates better focus and clarity

About the Author: Nika Dearing, HLC,CPH,PhD assists clients in holistic living, soul healing, and finding balance in their chaotic lives through coaching, energy healing, and workshops. Find her at or through her online holistic living resource, You can read her blog at

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This